Heater core isolation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heater core isolation

On my 63 Morris Cooper S I have an "upgraded" heater labeled British Leyland,
    so newer than the car. it has the proper heater cable operated valve on block.
    However, when I shut off the valve ( I freed up the cable and valve connections) I still get heat through the core. I would like to shut the core off in the warmer months (car runs cool enough I think) and wonder if a small brass shutoff valve in the return hose would make that happen and if there is a downside to that (or other ways to do this). Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Why not replace the valve on the head?

Don

Comment

Valve works?

I think the head mounted valve probably works, I have been told that the heater can still heat up from the coolant in the return line, but I am a real novice (actually, more of a dummy) on mechanical stuff, how would I easily check function of the valve as it moves fully and smoothly?

Comment

I agree with Don, I'd suspect the heater valve on the head. The water flow is from the heater valve to the heater core, then back to the engine, so it seems to me that water might be leaking through the valve.

Comment

There are heater valves that work opposite of what you would expect. These are later valves. It may be open when you expect it to be closed.

Kelley
          If you can afford the car, you can afford the manual...

Comment

It could also be like an igloo to a polar bear.. solid on the outside, chewey on the inside. The rubber insides could be shot while the outsides look good. A new stock valve is an inexpensive and proper fix.

Don

Comment

Unfortunately, heater valves that sit on the head have never been the most reliable. OK, but not real reliable. I solved that problem by leaving them on all the time.